Defense of the pixel

I wonder if I’m the only one who likes the pixelation. Perhaps it’s due to the original Voodoo’s mere 2MB of texture memory, but a lot of early accelerated games used to have some real blurry textures. In some cases, I prefer the software rendering version. Look at NFS2: Special Edition.

This is what dreams looked like in 1997
This is what dreams looked like in 1997
And this is what they looked like 6 months later (I don't know what's up with the gamma)
And this is what dreams looked like 6 months later (I don’t know what’s up with the gamma)

Look at that background color banding in the DirectDraw version… ahem, I mean, I have the feeling that some details were lost in the 3dfx port. It does run a lot smoother though.

Chances are that my 1024×768 screen is not doing me any favors. Screengrabs sometimes end up looking better than the final result, which is much blurrier instead. Here’s some screenshots from Virtua Cop 2.

Direct3D with no bilinear filtering. This is what you would see with a Matrox Mystique, I guess (screenshots made with a Voodoo 3 3000).
Direct3D with no bilinear filtering. This is what you would see with a Matrox Mystique, I guess (screenshots made with a Voodoo 3 3000).
Direct3D with Bilinear filtering. The success of the Voodoo meant most people saw this. You'd be hard pressed to see a big difference here, but on screen the effect is much more noticeable.
Direct3D with Bilinear filtering. The success of the Voodoo meant most people saw this. You’d be hard pressed to see a big difference here, but on screen the effect is much more noticeable.
DirectDraw version, just for kicks. It looks almost like D3D with no filtering, aside from the alpha stippling in place of proper transparency.
DirectDraw version, just for kicks. It looks almost like D3D with no filtering, aside from the alpha stippling in place of proper transparency.

Despite these screenshots, in Virtua Cop 2, activating texture filtering will turn the game into a hot mess. Disabling it will result in a nicer-looking version of the original Saturn game.

GLQuake also provides some interesting examples.

I can't really see anything in the central tunnel.
I can’t really see anything in the central tunnel.
A little better. Just be prepared to deal with the shimmering.
A little better. Just be prepared to deal with the shimmering.

I just consider myself lucky for Anisotropic filtering today.

What says you?

