Dark Forces 1: Not A Jedi Knight

I just had my first brush with a Dark Trooper. It wasn’t all that difficult, although I hear the game gets progressively harder, so I have to be prepared.

The biggest fault in Dark Forces, until now, seems to be that the game just can’t find its own identity. Without the Force powers and lightsaber that the sequels let you play around with, this first installment feels like little more than a reskinned Doom.

Early Kyle looked a bit like Han Solo. Or maybe Dash Rendar? All of them get to deal with Boba Fett anyway.
Early Kyle looked a bit like Han Solo. Or maybe Dash Rendar? All of them get to deal with Boba Fett anyway.

Even worse, the lack of in-game saving means you have to clear each level on a single sitting. And with such complicated maps, this can prove troublesome at times. You want to play a quick 15 minutes, and they become 60 minutes because you can’t find the key you need. I was never a fan of this kind of design, but at least with save-anywhere, it wouldn’t be that much of a problem.

I’m going to keep playing because I like it overall, but it doesn’t have a patch on the sequel. I will say that improved sequels seemed to be a trend for the old Lucasarts (Monkey Island 2, Day of the Tentacle, TIE Fighter come to mind) so I’m not that surprised.

What says you?

