Apprentice Hunter Again

That feeling when you start a new Monster Hunter game. Is there anything more exhilarating? I have felt that at least twice now. Not counting when I started Freedom Unite, because I still didn’t have any expectation for the series (little did I know that I would waste 170 hours of my life), I felt it with G for the Wii, and now with 4 Ultimate.

The third generation is the one I could never really get into. And I tried, oh my god, did I try. (image by Nintendo of Europe)
The third generation is the one I could never really get into. And I tried, oh my god, did I try. (image by Nintendo of Europe)

After three times, though, the feeling is somewhat tempered. Part of that may be because the start is pretty much the same in all the games. The monsters might be different, the quest might look different, but in the end you are always crafting the same Bone weapon, then upgrading the starter Iron weapon, and all that jazz. Relatively little changes in the beginning of the game. And later on, the feeling of progression is always the same.

Already I can see that MH4U is trying to bring something new to the table. Even so, it’s not a series that really changes a lot. Considering its success in Japan, that would be like demanding for a new Call of Duty to be radically different from the previous one: it would be too risky a move, and fans might be alienated. Nonetheless, after four entries, one can’t help but feel like they are treading in all-too-familiar paths.

Some monsters remain a pain, no matter how many time you see them. Hello, Gravios.
Some monsters remain a pain, no matter how many time you see them. Hello, Gravios.

Well, that is something to consider for the future. For now, there’s another monster game that needs to be beaten. And in the end, beating the first wyvern of the game is always exhilarating. Always.

One thought on “Apprentice Hunter Again”

What says you?

