When the world needs a hero, and there’s no hero anymore

It pains me to say this, but I just don’t feel the drive to keep playing SMT4. I’m only 6 hours in, and already I can’t find it in myself to start the game anymore.

How tastes change. From 2004 to about 2007, I played almost only JRPGs, and the occasional shooter (that much never changed). From Final Fantasy to Shin Megami Tensei, from Grandia to Tales, I’ve run the whole gamut of popular series, and even some not-so-popular ones. The last one I played extensively was Persona 4 and its 80 hours, back for its 2009 launch. After that, it’s been an almost complete void. For a couple years now, they have been boring me to death. I never last more than a few hours.

I still say Knights in the Nightmare is underrated. It's also very unconventional, so perhaps it doesn't really count.
I still say Knights in the Nightmare is underrated. It’s also very unconventional, so perhaps it doesn’t really count.

I could perhaps say that I just don’t like the genre anymore, but just a few months ago I tried Chrono Cross again, and managed to clock 40 hours in two weeks to finish the game. I also finished Child of Light upon release. So there’s still hope, however feeble. Apparently I need to find the right game, though, and who knows which one it is.

The design is so 90's it hurts my (eye)balls. Grandia was awesome. Maybe a new Grandia could be what I need.
The design is so 90’s it hurts my (eye)balls. Grandia was awesome. Maybe a new Grandia could be what I need.

Perhaps I have to go back into the classics? I started my career with FF7 back in 2004, so maybe what I need to do is to play FF7 again. Just some food for thought.

What says you?

