Wii U revisited

Now that I have a Wii U again, this generation is almost complete for me (let’s face it though, my chances of buying a Vita are pretty slim). Found a Basic with Nintendo Land for a decent price, and went for it. Incidentally, it’s the same price I sold it for, two years ago. It must be karma.

When you can get the new Kirby for free by trading in Mortal Kombat X: it's like giving a kid a smut mag in exchange for a lollipop.
When you get the new Kirby for free by trading in Mortal Kombat X: it’s like giving a kid a smut mag in exchange for a lollipop. The lollipop is sweeter though. Especially when the art style comes straight out of The Neverhood. I approve.

I was curious to see if many of the issues which made me sell my console two years ago had been fixed. Turns out, yes and no. While things have been made faster, the overall experience is still somewhat unfriendly. The Gamepad, which at least looked like an impressive piece of technology in 2012, now looks ancient. The low resolution is a real problem with an otherwise beautiful game like Kirby and the Rainbow Curse.

I just had to get this. It helps that Nintendo finally wisened up and gave us the 60hz version.
I just had to get this. It helps that Nintendo finally wisened up and gave us the 60hz version. Unfortunately, everything ages, and in Mario 64’s case, the camera controls today are downright atrocious. It’s still great, just a little less so.

Still, I’m already getting my money’s worth. I found a copy of Wind Waker HD in a clearance bin for a whole 3 euro. That doesn’t happen often with Nintendo games. Considering I was originally waiting for a Wind Waker HD bundle for a good price, this must be karma once again.

When you are Nintendo, you must always do things differently, and usually a little worse. An account is a Friend Code, a micrphone becomes a Wii Speak. And an open beta becomes a hour-limited Global Testfire.
When you are Nintendo, you must always do things differently, and usually a little worse. An account is a Friend Code, a microphone becomes a Wii Speak. And an open beta for them is an hour-limited Global Testfire.

So once in a while you get what you wish for. My next investment will probably be one of those tiny USB sticks to increase the available storage: in the end, 3500MB just ain’t a lot. I don’t expect to buy a lot of digital games, but a 16GB expansion would fit nicely.

And besides, there’s always the chance of getting The Infernal Machine or Shadow Man on VC. Right?

What says you?

