Snippets of summer

The heat has started a few days ago, and so has my job ended, at least for now. While I’m looking for something else to do, the heat makes it a little harder to keep focused on games, or anything else, really.

That doesn’t mean I haven’t been trying anything. In fact, since the last update, I’ve finished Wind Waker HD (which has almost messed up my inverted-Y perception in third person games, damn it), and also gave a try to Normality, which I had bought on GOG some months ago. Immediately I tried to run it on the old PC, and while it does work, there seems to be a big issue: the game is constantly switching resolution whenever you go from the gameplay screen to an inventory object.

The engine apparently comes from Realms of the Haunting. You can look around yourself, making it akin to other 360° degree adventures of the era, such as Zork Nemesis... just, this is in real 3D.
The engine apparently comes from Realms of the Haunting. You can look around yourself, making it akin to other 360° degree adventures of the era, such as Zork Nemesis… just, this is in real 3D.

I wonder if this wasn’t an issue in CRT monitors, but I’m fairly sure it must have been too. It’s certainly problematic on an LCD, since you get flashing black screens all the time. Dosbox manages it a little better, so I’ll have to play this on my regular desktop… too bad.

Other achievements are mixed. I’ve started and finished Project Zero 2 Wii Edition in around 7 hours, and now I hope I’ll never have to use a Wiimote as a camera ever again. It’s not a definitive edition by any stretch of the mind: in fact, as far as sharpness, controls, design and even framerate goes, playing the Xbox version on a 360 still trumps all the other versions by a country mile.

After playing Ghosts, even on the X1 and its 720p output, BO2 on the Wii U looks so last-gen it hurts. It would help if it could at least keep 60 stable frames per second, but alas it isn't to be.
After playing Ghosts, even on the X1 and its 720p output, BO2 on the Wii U looks so last-gen it hurts. It would help if it could at least keep 60 stable frames per second, but alas it isn’t to be.

Other started games include Black Ops 2 on the Wii U, which will hopefully be a better game than Ghosts was, and then… well, whatever I can find next that will hold my attention. In the meanwhile, I’ll be eating one popsicle after the other, in a fruitless attempt to not melt in this heat.

What says you?

