Jumping on the bandwagon – 15 great games: Introduction

There seems to come a time, in every blogger’s life, when they write a top 10 list of their favorite games (or books/anime/whatever floats their boat). Perhaps it’s a peculiar kind of initiation rite in nerd culture. Maybe it’s just good for venting your anger at how everyone else’s lists are bad, if not utterly outrageous, and don’t reflect your taste. Or maybe it’s just because you see other people doing it and thus want to join in the fun.

Whatever the case, I have indeed decided to join in the fun. Some will see it as jumping the shark, but I swear I’ll still talk about random old crap whenever I want. It’s just that I haven’t received any new graphics cards lately (why aren’t Voodoo 4s or Matrox m3Ds cheaper?). Not my fault!

Spoilers: not one of the games in the upcoming list. *hears Megaman fans booing and closing the tab*
Spoilers: not one of the games in the upcoming list. *hears Megaman fans booing and closing the tab*

Let’s lay out my rules. For starters, it would be incredibly hard for me to write anything much longer than a Top 15 or so. And then, it wouldn’t even be a real “Top Fifteen”: if I tried to think about my 15 favorite games, sure I could do that. But then more would pop up that I feel would deserve to be in the list, and then more, and then still more. So the upcoming list is going to be, very simply, a choice of 15 among my favorite games, in no particular order. Yes, because even ranking them would be hard enough. To make things simpler, I’ll just write it in release date order.

Also worth mentioning: all of these games have to hold up well today. As Proust said, things as we remember them are not things as they were… or something like that. I don’t really remember (how ironic). So any game in this list is a game I’ve played again – or for the first time – recently, and feel confident in mantaining them among my favorites despite their age. Finally, all the games in the list will include some notes on the eventual different editions, and which ones are better to play today, or maybe simply easier to find.

Another game not in the list. It's like I'm telling you everything before I even start.
Another game not in the list. It’s like I’m telling you everything before I even start.

The first game in the list will come up tomorrow. Prepare yourself for a slew of old favorites, some new favorites, a number of unknown gems, and even a few unknown stinkers. Just kidding. But, you might see both the expected and the unexpected. Unless you already know me well. Then it won’t be so unexpected.

What says you?

