15 Great Games: Curtains Close

The Binding of Isaac
Going beyond the call of duty.

Well, that was a fun ride. When I started, I had a pretty decent idea of which games I wanted to cover. As the days went by, I did a few changes here and there, perhaps to remove a game that felt too much like one before, or maybe because I had just thought of something better. By and large, the list didn’t change much since its inception, but it was never quite a firm choice.

I should mention once again, this wasn’t my Top 15. Nor it was my 15 favorite games in no particular order. Or even 15 of my favorite games. No, this was just “15 great games”. What is great will vary depending on the person. In my case, if I wanted to make a list of favorite games, I could have included many more than just these.

Were you surprised this one wasn't included? You should be, after all it's very good. But I didn't want to put in too many shooters, especially with Half-Life an Serious Sam around those years.
Were you surprised this one wasn’t included? You should be, after all it’s very good. But I didn’t want to put in too many shooters, especially with Half-Life an Serious Sam around those years.

For example, how can I forget the 170 hours spent in The Binding of Isaac? Or how can I simply ignore the way I’ve plundered the map of Dark Souls for all its worth? The various dragons in Monster Hunter Freedom Unite must fear me by now. As well as the demons in Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne, who have found their better. Not even Dracula could be my match in Castlevania: Circle of the Moon.

And sure, I’ve spent so many evenings hunting the Covenant on legendary difficulty in the Halo series. I got some advice when I needed it, and thus I was able to clear Ninja Gaiden 2 on Warrior. I obtained the avatar for gaining one million kudos in Project Gotham Racing 4. And freed all 300 mudokons in Oddworld: Abe’s Exoddus. One of my greatest accomplishments was clearing the main story dungeon in Shiren 5: The Fortune Tower and the Dice of Destiny. Speaking of Destiny, I’ve played little else for a good part of 2014. Not that Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls has been any kinder to my hours, because going from the starting 10 damage to a whopping average of 20 million damage per second is exhilarating. I’ve even conquered the outskirts of the Mushroom Kingdom in Super Mario Land, and teamed up with Mario’s nemesis in Warioware Inc. And for a summer, Ivalice had been my tactical ground in Final Fantasy Tactics Advance.

This, on the other hand, wasn't surprising.
This, on the other hand, wasn’t surprising.

Enough. I should have made my point by now. How can you possibly make a top games list when there’s so much to choose from? I find it hard to understand people, especially those have presumably played a lot of games before, being able to actually pinpoint 10 games and putting them into a specific order.

Memory changes many things, and so does experience. You think one game was good, then you play it again and you don’t like it as much. Or maybe you thought a certain game was bad, then you play it years later and it becomes one of your favorites. But I know that, for these 15 titles at the very least, they were good at the beginning and are still good now. That’s gotta count for something.

What says you?

