Breaking the hours barrier

I just noticed that I must have spent more than 200 hours playing Destiny. That sounds like a lot of time for one game, but I did come close with some other titles too. The Binding of Isaac is roughly 180 hours, same for Diablo 3, Dark Souls 2 is probably more than that between all of my characters, and even though Morrowind and Baroque have no counter, I have a feeling I must have spent more than 200 hours in those too.

The counter actually says 190 hours, but it doesn’t count the time spent in cities and in orbit. And believe me, that was a whole lot of time spent mulling over legendary items.

While playing one game for so long is quite rare for me, I know that some people have played other games far, far longer.  I’m always amazed whenever someone comes up with an 800 hours savedata for Disgaea or whatever. I mean, I have spent the last two months playing almost exclusively Destiny (granted I didn’t have a lot of free time in the past two months… or in the next month) and I only got to 200 hours. And that was on top of the existing 70-80 hours I had accumulated during the launch period. Just how long do you have to play to reach 800 hours? (… well, I guess you’d have to play 800 hours)

You disturbed the remains (stealth Destiny reference). And yes, of course the various Serious Sam games have also been played way too many times.

If you have played a certain game for more hours than you’d care to admit, how did you do it? Did you keep playing even through the boring parts, or were you actually never bored? I can’t possibly imagine playing a game for that long without getting tired at some point. I’m doing fine in Destiny now, but of course repetitiveness is setting in.. and now I’m Light 398, it won’t be long before I get to 400 and lose the drive to grind in the first place.

I just lack that kind of focus. Then again, I play more games than the average person. Maybe I lose interest too quickly, and then switch to the next game. Well, that’s fine too. But maybe one day I’ll find that perfect game. The one that grabs and just doesn’t let go. That game to marry, so to speak. Not that there’s anything creepy about marrying a game, no sir.

What says you?

